Skip to content

on clean slates, and thinking like mr. clean

September 29, 2010

An imagined yet probably highly accurate letter by yours truly and pugfully.

Dear Ottawa,

This time around I promise to be a fiscally responsible mayor. Sure, I tried to give myself a $32,000 raise immediately after being elected last time around, but after some bad publicity I decided against that. And, that was years ago! Think of all the things I have done since then.

Maybe don’t think of the bribery charges.

Like, for example, I promised not to raise taxes!

Okay so I raised taxes. But budgeting is hard. How could I have known? Plus, promises don’t really count as promises if they are made by politicians. It’s part of the game. By the by, I promise to freeze taxes. Again. This time I will do it for sures.

Let’s freeze salaries while we are at it. I understand that freezing wages during a period of inflation effectively cuts wages, leaving less money with the Ottawaians to re-invest in the economy, but maybe you don’t.

I promise to continue to govern Ottawa in such a way that brings council together. I might even give all council members a gold coin of recognition. Instead of just some of them.

Probably not though.

Re-elect me. I promise you more of the same. And that is one promise I can keep.

Warm regards,

L.O.

- Cleo’s scribe

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

